DDR/RR

DDRRR means Disarmament, Demobilization, Repatriation, Reintegration and Resettlement of foreign armed groups. This component of the Section aims to voluntarily repatriate all illegal foreign armed groups and their dependents from the DR Congo to their respective countries of origin.

It has been over a decade now that the DR Congo in particular, and the Great Lakes region in general have become home to a multitude of armed groups, a situation that has continued to cause insecurity, instability, and the suffering of the population. Meantime, some significant advances have been made in recent years to resolve the prolonged crisis as a result of the Lusaka Accord (1999), the Pretoria Agreement (2002), Nairobi Communiqué (November 2007), the Peace Conference in Goma (January 2008),  the Bujumbura Communiqué (March 2008) etc.

In 2001, the Security Council adopted Resolutions1355 and1376 plus 1493 (2004) calling for the disarmament of all armed groups in the DR Congo within the mandate of the United Nations Mission in the DR Congo, MONUC. 



However in 2010, Resolution 1925 established the United Nations Organization Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo, MONUSCO, and previous ones have also called for a comprehensive and voluntary Disarmament, Demobilization, and Reintegration (DDR) of Congolese armed groups, and the Disarmament, Demobilization, Repatriation, Reintegration, and Resettlement (DDRRR) of foreign armed groups for the long-term stability and economic development of the DR Congo. 

The latest Resolution 2098 (2013) calls for the establishment of an Intervention Brigade (IB) within MONUSCO that will neutralize and disarm all armed groups operating in the DR Congo. The IB will also be responsible to attack and forcibly disarm any armed group that refuses to adhere to the voluntary DDR/RR process.

The governments of the DR Congo and Rwanda have been urged to continue to work together to agree on clear set of end-state solution on the question of the Rwandan armed group, the Democratic Forces for the Liberation of Rwanda (FDLR) within the framework of multi-dimensional approach. Security Council Resolution 1896 (2009) also urges all member states to take legal action against leaders of the FDLR in their countries. 



Therefore, the Disarmament, Demobilization, Repatriation, Reintegration, and Resettlement (DDR/RR) Section of MONUSCO was set up based on two operational components. The first is the DDRRR which deals with illegal foreign armed groups in the DR Congo, including the Democratic Forces for the Liberation of Rwanda (FDLR), Allied Democratic Forces (ADF), Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA), and National Front for Liberation – Burundi (FNL); and the second is the DDR, which focuses on the Congolese armed groups, including the residual elements of the Congolese civil war. 

It can therefore be stated that in spite of the continuing efforts on the part of the Congolese authorities and the International Community to restore peace and stability in the DR Congo, insecurity remains one of the biggest challenges, considering the presence of local and foreign armed groups in the Country.

Contact

  • Jean-Marc Tafani, OIC DDR/RR Director tafani[at]un[dot]org
  • Sam Howard, Public Information/DDR Officer howards[at]un[dot]org

DDR/RR

DDRRR signifie désarmement, démobilisation, rapatriement, réintégration et réinstallation des groupes armés étrangers. Cette composante de la Section vise à rapatrier volontairement tous les groupes armés étrangers illégaux et leurs personnes à charge de la République démocratique du Congo à leurs pays d'origine respectifs.

Cela fait plus d'une décennie maintenant que la République démocratique du Congo en particulier, et la région des Grands Lacs en général sont le lieu d’action d’une multitude de groupes armés, une situation qui a continué à provoquer l'insécurité, l'instabilité et la souffrance de la population. Pendant ce temps, des progrès importants ont été réalisés ces dernières années pour résoudre la crise prolongée à la suite de l'Accord de Lusaka (1999), l'Accord de Pretoria (2002), Communiqué de Nairobi (Novembre 2007), la Conférence de paix de Goma (Janvier 2008) , le Communiqué de Bujumbura (Mars 2008), etc.

En 2001, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté les Résolutions  1376, 1355 ainsi que 1493 (2004) demandant le désarmement de tous les groupes armés en République démocratique du Congo dans le mandat de la Mission des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo, la MONUC.

Cependant en 2010, la résolution 1925 a établi la Mission de l'Organisation de stabilisation des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo, la MONUSCO, et les précédentes ont également appelé à un désarmement complet et volontaire, démobilisation et réinsertion (DDR) des groupes armés congolais et le désarmement , démobilisation, rapatriement, réintégration et réinstallation (DDRRR) des groupes armés étrangers pour la stabilité à long terme et le développement économique de la RD Congo.

La dernière résolution 2098 (2013) prévoit la création d'une Brigade d'intervention (FIB) au sein de la MONUSCO dont le rôle sera de neutraliser et désarmer tous les groupes armés opérant dans la République démocratique du Congo. La FIB sera également chargée d'attaquer et désarmer de force tout groupe armé qui refuse d'adhérer au processus volontaire de DDRRR.

Les gouvernements de la République démocratique du Congo et du Rwanda ont été invités à continuer à travailler ensemble pour convenir ensemble d'une solution visant à mettre fin à la question du groupe armé rwandais, les Forces démocratiques pour la libération du Rwanda (FDLR) dans le cadre d’une approche multi-dimensionnelle. La Résolution 1896 (2009) du Conseil de sécurité exhorte également tous les Etats membres à prendre une action en justice contre les dirigeants des FDLR dans leur pays.

Par conséquent, la Section Désarmement, démobilisation, rapatriement, réintégration et réinstallation (DDR / RR) de la MONUSCO a été mis en place sur la base de deux composantes opérationnelles. Le premier est le DDRRR qui traite des groupes armés étrangers illégaux en République démocratique du Congo, y compris les Forces démocratiques pour la libération du Rwanda (FDLR), les Forces démocratiques alliées (ADF), l'Armée de résistance du Seigneur (LRA), et le Front National de Libération - Burundi (FNL); et le second est le DDR, qui se concentre sur les groupes armés congolais, y compris les éléments résiduels de la guerre civile congolaise.

On peut donc affirmer que, malgré les efforts continus de la part des autorités congolaises et la communauté internationale pour rétablir la paix et la stabilité en République démocratique du Congo, l'insécurité reste l'un des plus grands défis, compte tenu de la présence de groupes armés locaux et étrangers dans le pays.

Contact

  • Jean-Marc Tafani, OIC DDR/RR Director tafani[at]un[dot]org
  • Sam Howard, Public Information/DDR Officer howards[at]un[dot]org