ISSSS Programming

The ISSSS supports stabilization efforts in five provinces in Eastern Congo, namely North-Kivu, South-Kivu, Ituri, Haut-Uele and Bas-Uele. In the five provinces, 13 Priority Zones were identified and formally recognized in July 2014 by SSU, UNCT, International and national NGOs, STAREC, governmental representatives and civil society representatives from each province. The ISSSS is currently active in six zones.

Pilot projects

Between December 2014 and August 2016 two major ISSSS pilot projects in Kalehe (South Kivu) and Mambasa (Ituri) have been implemented through the Immediate Response Facility (IRF) of the PBF. The projects had a total budget of 8.3 million USD financed through PBF and Norway. The projects were implemented by UNDP, UN Habitat, IOM and also FAO and UNESCO in the case of Mambasa.

The two pilot projects were identified based on reoccurring and grave conflicts in those zones. Both zones have been affected in the past years by heavy conflicts. Since the genocide in Rwanda, Kalehe has increasingly become an epicenter of heavy land and power conflicts, aggravated through the weak presence and authority of state (security) actors. Mambasa territory was also characterized by many conflicts related to land use, particularly after the creation of the Okapi Wildlife Reserve in 1992. This reserve which contains, besides unique wildlife species, also a significant amount of natural resources has become a stage for violence, instability, and political manipulation. Due to weak state presence and authority in the area, the GoDRC was not able to adequately protect and prevent the reserve and its surroundings from illicit exploitation of its natural resources or from the activity of armed groups operating out of its forests. 

After a two-month non-cost extension for the project in Kalehe and a three-month non-cost extension for the project in Mambasa, both pilot projects came to a close in August 2016. To consolidate the results and to allow the implementation of an exit strategy, the National Funding Board of the SCF decided to allocate extra money to both projects for a transition phase of 12 months (1 million USD for Kalehe and 1.5 million USD for Mambasa). 

Click here to open a 2-pager about the pilot projects.

Click here to download the main outcomes of the evaluation of the pilot projects.

Stabilization programs

In 2016, three other programs were elaborated for Kitshanga, Ruzizi and South Irumu. The programs were designed as context specific, holistic, and integrated responses to the conflict dynamics identified in the Conflict and Needs Assessments.

Significant efforts have been made by the ISSSS Secretariat to facilitate ownership of the programs by local stakeholders. In this regard, restitutions were organized in the active Priority Zones to sensitize traditional leadership, civil society actors, and local government officials on the objectives of the programs and the need for local ownership.

After the development of the stabilization programs for Kitshanga, Ruzizi and South Irumu, a call for proposals was launched and three consortia were selected for the implementation process which started in 2017. A similar program development process has been started in the Beni Priority Zone.